![]() |
| In
This Issue
December 1997
Cooperative Purchases Benefit Faculty and Student Research Classrooms Renovated with Advanced Educational Technology Gift Enhances Australian Collection New Library Databases ProQuest Direct: Full-Text Articles Online |
New
Library Databases
The Libraries have added an exciting
array of databases over the past few months to provide faculty
and students with new ways to locate information for research and teaching.
Though all these databases are
available in the library, many can also be used from your office or any
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) recently launched by Columbia University Press, includes approximately "10,000 pages" of conference proceedings and working papers from 41 participating institutes around the world. The service also includes the full text of books andbook summaries, hyperlinks to more than 150 sites, journal abstracts and a calendar of conferences and seminars. Articles include author biographies, footnotes, bibliography andgraphics. Access CIAO using your Web browser at http://www.ciaonet.org/. Contemporary
Women's Issues indexes more than 600 sources published by over
100 organizations around the
world. Coverage begins with 1992 and now indexes more than 100 periodicals
in addition to non-periodical publications. Sources provide information
dealing with
Congressional Compass brings together a vast amount of information published by and about Congress. The full-text of the complete range of legislative and public policy resources may be searched, in addition to searching by assigned subject headings. Congressional Compass includes Congressional hearings and reports, bills, public laws, the Congressional Record, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, floor votes, Congressional member financial information, and the U.S. Code. In addition, the legislative history feature allows you to compile a history for any law enacted since 1970. Congressional Compass is available campus-wide using a Web browser at http://web.lexis-nexis.com/congcomp. HAPI Online, the Web version of Hispanic American Periodicals Index, allows you to search for citations to articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works from 400 social science and humanities journals going back to 1970. HAPI Online includes works published throughout the world which relate to Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Point your Web browser tohttp://hapi.gseis.ucla.edu/hapi/html/ to use HAPI Online. The International Medieval Bibliography on CD-ROM includes articles generally published 1980-1994 from over 4,000 periodicals and 5,000 conference papers, collections of essays and Festschriften. This interdisciplinary bibliography covers the European Middle Ages (c450-1500)and can be searched by subject, keyword, historical period, geographic area, author and publication date. The database is available in the Reference Department in Lauinger Library. Legal Resource Index provides cumulative indexing of approximately 800 legal publications. It also indexes law-related articles from more than 1,000 additional business and general interest periodicals. Coverage begins in 1980. The files are updated monthly. Legal Resource Index has been made available by Georgetown's E.B. Williams Law Library. Point your browser to http://141.161.38.45:82/screens/opacmenu.html. PolicyFile provides indexing and abstracts for the identification of public policy research and analysis originating within think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, andpublishers. Some well-known contributors include the American Enterprise Institute, BrookingsInstitution, Cato Institute, Center for Strategic and International Studies, Council on ForeignRelations, Heritage Foundation, Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, RANDCorporation, United States Institute of Peace, and the World Bank. PolicyFile, available on theWorld Wide Web, includes a database of over 13,000 abstracts dating from 1990 to the present, full-text for many indexed articles, and links to public policy organizations' home pages and e-mail addresses. You will find PolicyFile on the Web at http://www.policyfile.com/. World News Connection contains the full-text of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, periodicals and non-classified technical reports from nationsaround the world. Eight world regions are covered: Central Eurasia, China, East Asia, East Europe, West Europe, Latin America, Near East and South Asia, and Sub-Saharan Africa. World News Connection, formerly limited to use in the Government Documents Department in Lauinger Library, can now be accessed from networked computers on campus. Point your Web browser to http://wncnet.fedworld.gov. |
![]()
| © Copyright 1999, Georgetown University | Last updated: 2/25/99 |