| I. Finding Books, Recordings,
and Scores |

Use GEORGE,
Georgetown University's online catalog, to find books, musical scores,
or recordings by subject, title or author.
Finding books on music-related topics
To search by SUBJECT:
GEORGE uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. Some are
obvious and can be guessed, i.e., music or folk music. Many
are not obvious and the Library of Congress Subject Headings must
be checked (red volumes near Reference Desk). For example,
To find music topics for a country or region
e.g.,
Music -- Africa
To find music topics for a particular time period
e.g.,
Music -- 15th century
Music
-- 500 - 1400
To find music styles:
e.g.,
Blues music -- Discography
Rap
music -- History and criticism
To find works about a musician or group, enter the musician's or
group's name.
e.g.,
Gillespie, Dizzy
Beatles
To search using KEYWORD:
Keyword searching locates words in a book's title, subject headings,
and in other fields within the record, such as credits and lists
of performers.
You could search for performers on a recording or film, by keyword
searching the name of the performer:
e.g.,
Charlie Parker
Lena
Horne
Or, you could keyword a topic:
e.g.,
Flamenco
Spain
or Spanish
Finding recordings
NOTE: Recordings are
kept in the Gelardin
New Media Center, first floor Lauinger Library. Ask for
materials at the Gelardin help desk. The Gelardin Web pages outline
borrowing policies for audio, video, and multimedia and other information
about the Center <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/dept/gelardin/>.
Search by TITLE of the recording in GEORGE if you are looking for
a specific album:
e.g.,
Kind of Blue
Search by AUTHOR to find recordings by a particular artist:
e.g.,
Davis, Miles
Beethoven,
Ludwig
Select LIMIT/SORT to
sort your results by Material type (e.g.,
Sound Recording) or by Where the
item is located (e.g., Gelardin Media Center) if you are looking
specifically for audio material. LIMIT/SORT is a GEORGE option
that appears after you retrieve results. CDs, tapes, and
DVDs are housed in the Gelardin New Media Center.
To search directly for sound recordings using KEYWORD (e.g.,
tapes, CDs, DVDs), type in search terms (e.g., Flamenco or e.g.,
Spain or Spanish), then select either from the Material
type pull down menu (e.g., Sound Recording) or from the Location pull
down menu (e.g., Gelardin Media Center).
Finding scores or sheet music:
In Lauinger Library, you will more likely find books containing
musical pieces rather than loose scores or sheet music.
Search by AUTHOR:
To find compositions (or recordings) by a musician or group, search
for the name as an author.
e.g.,
Coltrane, John
Beethoven,
Ludwig
Guarneri
Quartet
Other Libraries
WRLC
Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George Washington,
American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount Universities, the
University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown University. Georgetown
students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries or request items via the WRLC
Catalog. Note that Catholic University has
a specialized Music
Library. The WRLC Cataog is also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/resource/libcats.htm
Library
of Congress Catalog <http://catalog.loc.gov>
See also the Library of Congress' Recorded
Sound Reference Center.
WorldCat
WorldCat is a catalog consisting of almost 30 million records representing
the holdings of thousands of libraries.
Scholar's
Guide to Washington, D.C. for Audio Resources. LAU
Stacks ML 15 .W2 H44 1985.
A guide to research facilities in the Washington, D.C. area. A descriptive
and evaluative survey accompanies each entry for a library. Refer to
subject index in back to see sound recordings related to music.
Georgetown
University Libraries Special Collections <http://www.library.georgetown.edu/dept/speccoll/>
Georgetown University Library has a number of music related
collections in the Special Collections division. For listings
and descriptions of these collections please see the Music Collections
section of the Visual & Performing
Arts Special Collections Subject Guide.
| II. Online Sheet Music and Songs |

1.
African
American Song
Online collection of over 16,000 music tracks from the first half
of the 20th century. Includes a variety of styles including ragtime,
blues, gospel, jazz, folk songs and narratives.
2.
Classical Music Library
Searchable database of classical
recordings with tens of thousands of licensed recordings
that can be listened to online. The audio selections are cross-referenced
to a database of supplementary reference information. The database
includes licensed multiple versions of some works to enable comparative
listening.
3.
Digital
Sheet Music Collection <http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/music/smp/index.html>
The University of Colorado at Boulder Music Library has a large
sheet music collection with approximately 150,000 items including
examples
from the late 18th through the 20th centuries. This web site provides
access to digital versions of some of the categories of sheet music
within the physical collections.
4.
I
Hear America Singing <http://www.loc.gov/rr/perform/ihas/>
This excellent digital resource from the Library of Congress'
Music, Dance, and Theater Collection. Presents various
specialized collections, including links to other historic sheet
music projects.
Note: The Library
of Congress' American
Memory collection also contains online images of
sheet music.
5.
Indiana
University Sheet Music Collection <http://www.letrs.indiana.edu/s/sheetmusic/>
This website allows you to search holdings from Lilly Library's
approximately 150,000 pieces of sheet music.
6.
Lester
S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music. <http://levysheetmusic.mse.jhu.edu/>
Over 29,000 pieces of American popular music. The collection spans
the years 1780 to 1980, but it is strongest in nineteenth-century
American
popular music, music of military conflicts from the War of 1812
through World War I, and minstrel music.
7.
Live
Music Archive. <http://www.archive.org/details/etree>
Live recordings by artists that allow taping and/or free trading
of their performances.
8.
The
New York Public Library's Sheet Music and Song Sheets Available
on the Web
<http://www.nypl.org/research/lpa/internet/lpa.cfm?Trg=1&d1=141&d3=Music>
Organized by subject. Includes Performing Arts in America project,
African American music, Band Music from the Civil War era, Ragtime,
the Choral Public Domain library, Historic Sheet Music, and others.
9.
Sheet
Music Consortium <http://digital.library.ucla.edu/sheetmusic/>
Collaborative effort between UCLA, Indiana University, Johns Hopkins
University, and Duke University that includes links their online sheet music
projects (some with images of sheet music) as well as links to other sheet
music projects
on the
Web.
10.
Sheet
Music Collection from the Music Library, University of South
Carolina <http://sheetmusic.library.sc.edu/>
Database of bibliographic records of sheet music in the University of South
Carolina's Music Library. For pieces of music that are in the public
domain, images of the cover and each page of music are provided.
11.
Smithsonian
Global Sound <http://www.smithsonianglobalsound.org/>
Note: Best with Internet
Explorer.
Web site launched by the Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage;
presents music from the Smithsonian's Folkways collections and from other archives
around the world. Includes extensive bibliographies.
| III. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias |

A. General
12.
Chambers
Dictionary of Music. Ref ML 100 .C43 2006
Over 6,500 entries covering various music genres and forms. A separate
chronology charts the development of music since the Middle Ages,
putting composers and works
into context.
13.
The
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. Ref. ML 100
.G16 1998
Volumes cover the regions of the world. Articles by researchers discuss
general information regarding a particular region, its music, music culture and
how music evolved in that region. Music for major religions of an area
is also discussed. Each volume includes a glossary of musical terms for
that particular area. Accompanying CDs of representative music are kept in the Gelardin
New Media Center, 1st floor, Lauinger Library.
14.
Grove
Music Online.
A comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of
music worldwide from ancient music to the popular music of today.
The 29,000 articles and more
than 20,000 biographies of the 2nd edition of the New Grove Dictionary of Music
and Musicians in print (Lauinger owns 1st edition of New Grove Dictionary of
Music and Musicians, Ref. ML100 .N48) are accessible with added searching capability,
additional context and links to Web sites that may offer more information about
the music, the musician, and related works. Also includes the New Grove
Dictionary of Jazz . and the New Grove Dictionary of Opera. Some links
to digital sound are also available.
15.
New
Oxford History of Music. Ref. ML 160 .N44
This ten volume set covers music history from ancient times to the modern age
(1890-1960). Each volume covers a particular time period -- middle ages,
renaissance, enlightenment, etc. Article entries, written by scholars,
include the history of music for different cultures and religions.
16.
Oxford
Companion to Music. Ref. ML 100 .S37 2002
This latest update is still international in scope, but refers to non-Western
and popular musics "in so far as they have had an impact on the Western
classical tradition." Contributors strove to consider the 21st century,
relating music to politics, religion, computers, semiotics, and so on. Paragraph
entries cover music terminology, musical instruments, and music history. Some
entries provide a list for further reading.
17.
Virginia
Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary <http://www.music.vt.edu/musicdictionary/>
Alphabetical music glossary created by Richard Cole
and Ed Schwartz from Virginia Tech. Brief entries contain
pronunciation sound files; some entries contain illustrations.
B. Music Topics
18.
American
Musical Traditions. Ref. ML 3551 .A53 2002
Published in collaboration with the Smithsonian Folkways Archive,
each of the five volumes covers different aspects of American music:
Native American, African
American, British Isles, Irish American, European American, Latino American,
and Asian American. Each volume includes a bibliography/discography/videography,
glossary, and index.
19.
Billboard
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Rock. Ref. ML 102.R6 B55 2003
Provides essential facts about songwriters, musicians and producers.
Covers over 1,700 artists.
20.
Continuum
Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Ref. ML 102 .P66 C66 2003
Seven volumes. Volumes III-VI are oranized by geographical region
while volumes I and II contain in-depth articles about topics related
to popular music such as social phenomena, types of performing groups,
musical instruments, and the music industry.
21.
Diccionario
de la musica: Espanola e Hispanoamericana. Ref. ML 101
.S7 D53 1999
An eight-volume encyclopedia on every aspect of music and musical culture in
Spain and Spanish-America, written in Spanish. Most entries include short bibliographies
and, in some cases, brief discographies or lists of works.
22.
Encyclopedia
of American Gospel Music. Ref. 102 .G6 E63 2005
Organized alphabetically, articles cover biographies of early and
contemporary performers and groups, significant events, radio stations,
record
and publishing
companies,
publications,
and instruments. Includes both African-American and white gospel music
23.
Encyclopedia
of the Blues. Ref. ML 102 .B6 E53 2006
Two volumes. More than 2,000 entries on the blues, its history, culture,
roots, contemporary styles, artists, historians, instruments, songs,
regions, record labels, and forms.
24.
Encyclopedia
of the Musical Theatre. Ref. ML 102 .M88 G3 2001
A wealth of information on individuals and shows. Three volumes.
25.
Encyclopedia
of Contemporary Christian Music. Ref. ML 102 .C66
P68 2002
Alphabetically arranged entries of artists associated
with Christian music; comprehensive in scope.
26.
Hollywood
Music Industry Directory. Ref. ML 18 .H65 2004
Describes itself as a "phone book to the music business," provides
contact information for record companies, agents, managers, attorneys, studios/networks,
music supervisors, companies involved in clearance and licensing, composers,
music publishers, and recording studios.
27. 
New
Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Ref. ML 102 .J3 N48 2002
Includes everything to do with jazz -- its terminology, musicians, instruments
and history. Available online as part of Grove Music
Online.
28. 
New
Grove Dictionary of Opera. Ref. ML 102 .O6
N5 1992
Four volumes cover operatic terminology, composers and performers
of opera. Available
online as part of Grove Music Online.
29.
All
Music Guide. <http://www.allmusic.com/>
Index to recorded music -- from popular to classical -- compiled
by free-lance
writers in the music industry. Includes biographies of musicians, labels
they record(ed) under, list of albums produced and other musicians performed
with. "Music maps" trace the roots of different music genres including
folk, new age, rap, rock, etc. See also print titles, such as: All
Music Guide to Classical (Ref. ML 156.9 .A385 2005), All
Music Guide to Country (Ref. ML 156.4 .C7 A45 2003), All Music Guide
to Jazz (Stacks ML 156.4 .J3 A45 2002), All Music Guide to Rock (Ref.
ML 156 .A39 2002), All Music Guide to Soul (Stacks ML 156.4 .S6
A45 2003), and All Music Guide to the Blues (Ref. ML 156.4 .B6 A45 2003).
C. Biographies
Biographical
sources are shelved separately in the first row in the Reference
Stacks. They are labeled Ref. Biog.; most music
sources will be shelved at Ref. Biog. ML. Several of the dictionaries
and encyclopedias listed above include biographical information.
30.
Baker's
Biographical Dictionary of Musicians. Ref. Biog.
ML 105 .B16 2001
Biographical sketches are for most notable performers, composers, and patrons
of music. Includes non-European musicians. Entries for composers
include list of works composed and sometimes a brief bibliography. See
also Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990 (Ref.
Biog. ML 102 .P66 B35 2004
31.
Dictionary
of American Classical Composers. Ref. ML 106 .U3 B87 2005
Covers
over 650 American classical composers from the 18th century to the
present. Each entry contains basic biographical information and a
critical analysis of the composer's key works and ideas.
| IV. Bibliographies and Writing Aids |

32.
Citing
Music Sources. <http://www.lib.uwo.ca/music/citemus.html>
How to cite sources for music papers based on the Turabian style manual.
33.
Music
Analyses. Ref. ML 128 .A7 D5 1991
An annotated bibliography arranged by composer. Entries feature general articles
or books on the composer; then articles or books on specific works.
34.
Music
Reference and Research Materials: an Annotated Bibliography. Ref.
ML 113 .D83 1997
This source surveys the research literature in music. It details dictionaries,
encyclopedias, histories of music, music chronologies
and catalogs of musical library collections. This
volume does not cover biographical sources for musicians.
35. 
Sourcebook
for Research in Music. Ref.
ML 113 .C68 2005
Contains basic bibliographical tools for research in music, including area bibliographies
and other reference sources, dictionaries and encyclopedias of music, sources
treating the history of music, and current research journals in music. Also
contains editions of music and miscellaneous sources. Also available in e-brary (search
by title).
36.
Jazz
Scholarship and Pedagogy: a Research and Information Guide. Ref.
ML 128 .J3 M34 2006
An annotated bibliography to books, recordings, videos, and websites in the field of jazz.

Note: To
locate the full text of articles, search Journal
Finder by the title
of the journal or magazine. Journal
Finder will tell you if
the full text of a periodical is available in an online database and/or if
the
Library
has
a
print copy.
A. Music
37.
International
Index of Music Periodicals. 1874-
.
Includes some full text articles as far back as 1995. Covers nearly all aspects
of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes.
Current content from more than 375 scholarly and popular music periodicals
from over 20 countries. Indexes feature music articles and obituaries
appearing in New York Times and Washington Post.
38.
RILM
(Repetoire International de Litterature Musicale). 1969-
.
International in scope, RILM draws from periodical articles, books, bibliographies,
catalogs, dissertations, films and videos, and conference proceedings. Covers
all aspects of music.
39.
International
Index of the Performing Arts. 1993-
.
Index to more than 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals; a
few go back before 1993. Also indexes biographical profiles, conference papers,
interviews, discographies, reviews, events, and obituaries appearing
in New York Times and Washington Post. Music-related topics include musical
theater and opera.
40.
Canadian
Music Periodical Index. <http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/cmpi-ipmc/index-e.html> 1996-
.
Index to Canadian music periodical literature published by the National
Library of Canada. Provides bibliographic sources for information
on all aspects of musical activity
in Canada.
B. Related Fields
41.
LexisNexis
Academic.
News database that provides full-text for a few music and entertainment periodical
titles such as Music Business International, Music Week, and Variety. Also
a good source for reviews.
42.
Humanities
Index. 1984- .
Humanities
and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. 1907-1984.
Provides citations to the major scholarly English-language journals
in humanistic disciplines, including music. Indexes feature
articles, interviews, and reviews of operas, ballets, dance,
and musicals.
43.
JSTOR. (Date
varies by journal.) Excludes the latest 3
to 5 years.
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals
in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics
and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Includes
the back
issues of over thirty music periodicals.
44.
Project
Muse.
This collection of full text journals published by university presses includes
some music journals and is searchable. GEORGE, the online catalog, lists and
links to individual Project Muse titles.
45.
EdinburghUniversity
Collection of Historic Musical Instruments (EUCHMI). <http://www.music.ed.ac.uk/euchmi/index.html#u>
Catalog of all the instruments in the collection accompanied by an
electronic picture gallery with descriptions
of the instruments, list of publications
of the EUCHMI, description of some of the research being done at
the University, and links to related Web
sites.
46.
Music:
A Survey of Some Quality Resources <http://www.ala.org/ala/acrl/acrlpubs/crlnews/backissues2005/december05/music.cfm>
Article by Valerie King surveying music websites by type and genre. Includes
links to the websites discussed.
47.
Music
Awards and Prizes. <http://www.lib.washington.edu/music/awards.html>
University of Washington Music Library web page with listing of major
music awards and prizes.
Also includes links to lists of prize winners or home page of organization sponsoring
the award.
48.
Music
Publishers' Association. <http://www.mpa.org/>
Contains Directory of Music Publishers, copyright information, and
links to many Internet music sources (Music Links).
49.
Virtual
Instrument Museum. <http://learningobjects.wesleyan.edu/vim/>
Wesleyan University's Music Department's online World Music Collection.
Alphabetical list of instruments as well as listings by material, geographic
region or instrument type. Videos available of some of the instruments.
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 02/08,
mb
Links updated: 02/08,
mb