A. Individual Authors
1.
Literature
Resource Center (LRC).
Full-text biographical, bibliographical, and critical analysis of more than
100,000 world authors and works throughout history and across all literary
genres (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, and journalism). Enables
you to search by literary movement (e.g., Gruppe 47), gender, or author nationality
(e.g., German). LRC is an electronic version of such print reference sources
as Dictionary of Literary Biography (Ref. Biog. PS 121 .D48) and Contemporary
Authors (Ref. Biog. CT 220 .C62). Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
2.
Kritisches
Lexikon zur Deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur. Ref. PT 155 .K75
1995
Provides a brief biography, a critical essay on the author and the author's
work, and a bibliography of works both by and about the author. Updated,
but at irregular intervals.
3.
Lexikon
der Deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur. Ref. Biog. PT 155 .L48
1987
Biographical information on German authors since 1945.
4.
Literaturlexikon:
Autoren und Werke Deutscher Sprache. Ref. PT 41 .L5 1988
Composed of three parts, this multi-volume dictionary covers biographical information
in volumes 1-12, literary terms and concepts in volumes 13-14, and a master
index for the entire set in volume 15.
5.
The
Oxford Companion to German Literature. Ref. PT 41 .G3 1997
A convenient handbook to German authors, literary
works, and terms. This 1997 edition reflects Germany's reunification
and provides information about new authors (including previously neglected
women writers), titles, and literary trends of the late 1980s through
mid-1990s.
B. German Literary History
6.
The
Cambridge History of German Literature. Ref. PT 91 .C36 1997
A comprehensive history of German literature, providing signed essays on nine
periods in German literary history (e.g., Middle Ages, the German Enlightenment). Each
essay discusses the genres, schools, major figures, and sociopolitical and
historical developments of the period. A "Select Bibliography" lists
for each period a few key sources for "individual authors," "genres," and "movements
and periods," among other categories.
7.
Deutsche
Literatur von Frauen. PT 151 .W7 D48 1988
History of women authors in German literature from the Middle Ages through
the late 20th Century.
8.
Encyclopedia
of German Literature. Ref. PT 41 .E53 2000
Essays on authors, literary and cultural topics, and literary periods, which
includes bibliographies of the authors' works and further readings. Two volumes.
9.
Feminist
Encyclopedia of German Literature. Ref. PT 41 .F46 1997
Essays on authors, concepts, and theories from the perspective of feminist
scholarship; bibliographies, appendix of names, index.
10.
Geschichte
der Deutschen Literatur von den Anfangen bis zur Gegenwart. PT 85
.B64
A standard, twelve-volume history of German literature covering 770 - 1980s.
11.
Kindlers
Literaturgeschichte der Gegenwart: Die Literatur der Bundesrepublik
Deutschland. Ref. PT 403 .L3
Discusses major authors, works, and trends in the literature of West Germany.
Reprints selections from the writings of German authors.
12.
Reallexikon
der Deutschen Literaturgeschichte. Ref. PT 41 .R4 1958
Provides extensive discussion of terms, forms, and concepts in literary history.
C. German Culture
13.
BFI
Companion to German Cinema. Ref. PN 1993.5 .G3 B45 1999
This concise reference work provides short biographies of actors, directors,
and others involved in German film along with essays on film genres, movements,
and production companies and other institutions. Bibliography. A more extensive
survey of the history of German film, 1895-1993, is Geschichte des Deutschen
Films (PN 1993.5 .G3 G37 2004) which includes a chronology.
14.
Brockhaus:
die Enzyklopädie. Ref. AE 27 .B915 2001
General, German language encyclopedia in 24 volumes.
15.
Encyclopedia
of Contemporary German Culture. Ref. DD 290.26 .E53 1999
Entries cover life in the German-speaking world post-1945, some include bibiliographies.
A thematic entry list at the beginning of the volume allows for browsing.
16.
Medieval
Germany: An Encyclopedia. Ref. DD 157 .M43 2001
Articles on people, places, events, and other social and cultural topics related
to German- and Dutch-speaking Europe, 500 - 1500, many of which include bibilographies.
17.
Modern
Germany: An Encyclopedia of History, People, and Culture, 1871 -
1990. Ref. DD 14 .M64 1998
This two-volume set includes a chronology along with essays on a wide range
of topics. Bibliographies and an index.
| II. Compilations of Criticism |
Compilations
reprint the sometimes scattered critical commentary on an author's
works. These works contain just excerpts of books or articles, not
the entire original piece.
18.
Literature
Resource Center (LRC).
In addition to author biographies, LRC includes excerpts of criticism from
such sets as Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism (Ref. PN 771 .C59),
Contemporary Literary Criticism ( Ref. PN 771 .C59), Literature Criticism from
1400-1800 (Ref. PN 86 .L53), and Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (Ref.
PN 761 .N56).
19.
Critical
Survey of . . . Foreign Language Series.
Drama. Ref.
PN 1625 .C74 1986
Long
Fiction. Ref. PN 3451 .C75 1984
Poetry. Ref.
PN 41 .C7 1984
Biographical and critical information on prominent authors writing in languages
other than English. The last volume of each set contains essays on the genre
in various countries and time periods.
20.
Modern
German Literature: A Library of Literary Criticism. Ref. PT
401 .D6
A compilation of excerpted criticism of twentieth-century German authors.
| III. Guides
to the Literature, Literary Terms |
21.
German
Literature: An Annotated Reference Guide. Ref. Z2231 .F38
This annotated bibliography lists major resources for the study of German literature.
22.
Informationshandbuch
Deutsche Literaturwissenschaft. Z 2331 .B65 1990
Research materials for German literature.
23.
Sachwörterbuch
der Literatur. Ref. PN 41 .W5 1989
A dictionary of literary terms, many of the longer definitions include bibliographies.
A.
GEORGE<http://catalog.library.georgetown.edu>
1. Author Searches: Type in the name, last name first. Note:
Names must be entered in the proper form.
For example: Kleist,
Heinrich von, 1777-1811
2. Subject Searches: To find books of literary criticism about
authors and/or their work, type in the name (last name, first name)
as a subject. Many different subheadings can appear under this
subject heading, but note particularly:
"Criticism and interpretation" (e.g.,
Wolf, Christa--Criticism and Interpretation) and
"Bibliography" (e.g., Grass, Gunter, 1927--Bibliography).
If a specific work has been widely studied, you may find a subheading
devoted just to it (e.g., Goethe, Johann Wolfgang von, 1749-1832. Faust)
Note: For a given book to appear under an author's name, the book
must be solely or primarily about the author. Therefore, you might
want also to expand the scope of your search (e.g., German Literature,
Austrian Literature). Many subject headings are subdivided by time
period and then further by type of work. For example:
-
German Literature--20th Century--Bibliography
-
German literature--Middle High German, 1050-1500--Criticism
and interpretation
It's a good idea to browse through all of the subheadings, because
the time-period subdivisions do not appear in chronological order.
3. Keyword Searches: When you can't determine a relevant subject
heading, try searching by keyword. This technique locates words in
a book's title, subject headings, and contents notes. For example: war
and women and (german or germany) and literature.
There is rarely one correct or perfect heading that covers a search
in the catalog. If you need help with GEORGE, the online catalog, please
ask a Reference Librarian.
B.
Other
Library Catalogs
-
WRLC Catalog <http://catalog.wrlc.org/>
The catalog of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC): George
Washington, American, Catholic, George Mason, Gallaudet, and Marymount
Universities, the University of the District of Columbia, and Georgetown
University. Georgetown students may borrow directly from WRLC libraries
or request items via the WRLC Catalog.
-
WorldCat
A catalog containing over 30 million records, representing the holdings
of thousands of libraries.
| V. Periodical Indexes and Bibliographies |

24.
Bibliographie
der Deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft. 1945- . Ref. Z 2231
.B5
Important and extensive bibliography of German literature, linguistics, and
literary criticism. Individual authors can be found by using the "Namenregister." Often
known by the first editor's name: Hanns W. Eppelsheimer. Annual.
25.
MLA
Bibliography. 1961- . (1921-1994 Ref.
Z 7006 .M64)
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, the MLA index covers
scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Indexes
journal articles (75% of the entries), books, and book chapters from multi-author
works. Does not include book reviews. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
26.
Humanities
Index. 1984- . (1974-1983 Ref. AI 3 .R471)
Indexes approximately 300 English-language journals in the humanities, many
of them focusing on literature. Covers the core journals in humanistic
disciplines. Includes book reviews. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
27.
IBZ — International
Bibliography of Periodical Literature (Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur
aus allen Gebieten des Wissens). 1983- .
An international and interdisciplinary bibliography of academic periodical
literature mainly from the humanities, social sciences, and the arts, with
some science. Its emphasis is European periodicals; 37% of journals are in
German. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
28.
Germanistik:
Internationales Referatenorgan mit Bibliographischen Hinweisen. Periodical
Stacks 2d Floor
This quarterly publication provides a bibliography of current research on German
language and literature. The sections on literature are arranged by time period
and then by literary author. Most valuable for updating the secondary sources
not yet covered by other bibliographies.
29.
Deutsches
Literatur-Lexikon: Biographisch-Bibliographisches Handbuch. Ref.
Z 2231 .K66 Suppl 1966
Provides biographical information on German authors, in addition to listings
of their works and the major secondary literature about those works. In progress.
30.
Bibliothek
der Deutschen Literatur. Microforms Mfiche 445
Microfiche reproductions of the works listed in Der Taschengoedeke, Hirschberg's
listing of German first editions published between 1650 and 1925. Accompanied
by a finding tool for the collection entitled Bibliographie und Register (Mfiche
445 Guide) and organized by title, author, and author by region and subject
field. Brings to light the works of lesser-known authors.
31.
German
Studies Web <http://www.dartmouth.edu/~wess/>
Created by the Association of College and Research Libraries (a division of
the American Library Association), the German Studies Web "is designed to provide
access to scholarly resources in German Studies, including all German-speaking
countries," and includes newspapers and news sources, library catalogs
and digital projects, and German Studies homepages. The "Literature Resources" segment
of the site includes evaluated (and sometimes annotated) lists of electronic
journals, online text collections in German literature, library catalogs, and
other finding aids.
32.
Labyrinth:
Resources for German Studies (Georgetown University) <http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/display.cfm?Action=View&Category=German,%20Middle%20High>
Links to resources on German language and cultures, with an emphasis on the
Medieval period.
33.
Voice
of the Shuttle: Literatures Other than English <http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2719>
For German, lists links under the following categories: General Resources,
German Libraries, and German Departments (university programs).
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 8/02,sh
Links updated: 12/07
jc