
1.
Dave's
ESL Cafe <http://www.pacificnet.net/~sperling/eslcafe.html>
Created by Dave Sperling, an ESL Instructor at California State University
at Northridge, this site provides a wealth of information related to teaching
or learning English as a second language. Includes a Discussion Center, a Quiz
Center, an Idiom Page, and a Help Center.
2.
The
ESL Center <http://members.aol.com/eslkathy/esl.htm>
Links to many Web sites for grammar; exercises; pronunciation and conversation;
reading and writing; newspapers and magazines; televsion, cable, and radio
sites; vocabulary and word games; business English; dictionaries; and travel
resources.
3.
Internet
English Resources <http://www.iei.uiuc.edu/student_internet_res.html>
Links to ESL resources on the Web for grammar, listening/speaking, pronunciation,
reading, writing, vocabulary, and other collections of Web links.
4.
Many
TESL/TEFL/TESOL Links <http://www.aitech.ac.jp/~iteslj/ESL3.html>
This server, maintained by The Internet TESL Journal, includes links to journals,
associations, ESL lessons, as well as other materials of interest to the teacher
or student of English as a second language.
5.
OWL
Handouts in Outline Form <http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/index.html>
From Purdue University's Writing Lab, this site functions as a Web-version
of an English grammar handbook.
6.
The
Pedagogical Resource Page of the University of Washington ESL Center:
Resources for Students <http://staff.washington.edu/~eslinfo/Lists/student.html>
Links to Web sites for dictionaries, Internet searching tools, writing, grammar,
vocabulary, reading, quizzes, and TOEFL.
A. Subject
Search 
GEORGE, the
online catalog, uses Library of Congress Subject Headings.
These headings are terms that have been established by the Library
of Congress to represent subjects. Some examples of the types of
subject headings (SUBJECT searches):
- To find EFL/ESL textbooks: English language - Textbooks
for foreign speakers
- To find books on grammar, parts of speech, composition: English
language - Grammar, English language - Usage, English language
- Verb, English language - Composition and exercises, English
language - Rhetoric
- To find English/Foreign language dictionaries use the term
"English language dictionaries" followed by the
name of the desired language: English language dictionaries
- Chinese, English language
dictionaries - Arabic
- To find books about the Test of English as a Foreign Language
(TOEFL): Test of English as a Foreign Language - Study guides
- To find newspapers: English and Foreign Language newspapers
are arranged alphabetically and are available on the second floor
of Lauinger Library in the Periodicals section and in Government
Documents and the Pierce Reading Room. Press
Display provides
online access to today's newspapers from around the world in
full-color, full-page format.
B. Keyword
Search
When you cannot determine a relevant Library of Congress Subject
Heading or when you want to combine headings, search by KEYWORD.
This technique locates words in a book's title, subject headings,
and in other fields within the record. If more than one keyword
is used, the search results contain items that include all the
keywords.
C. Combined
Search
Perform a KEYWORD search on GEORGE for one or more of the terms
which best describe your search. For example, efl and learning.
GEORGE will create a set of records containing both words. If the
set is too large, select LIMIT, then select one of the ways of
limiting. From this set, view the items which seem most relevant.
The Library of Congress Subject Headings assigned to the book will
appear in the part of the record labeled "subject." If the subjects
are not visible on the first screen, scroll down further in the
record. If a subject heading looks promising, use it for further
searches. By trying a variety of subject headings for your topic,
you will find the best books for your research.
If you need help with the GEORGE, ask for assistance at the Reference
Desk.
| III. Doing Research on the Internet |

The Library's page on doing
research on the Internet gives information on evaluating
Internet resources, and links to search
engines and Internet
subject guides and directories.
| IV. EFL Textbook Collection |

A small collection of EFL textbooks is located in the Reference area of Lauinger
Library. These books may be borrowed for one week. Other textbooks
are shelved by call number on the fifth floor of Lauinger. To find
a list of textbooks, do a subject search in GEORGE using
the subject heading English language - Textbooks for foreign speakers. For
help, ask a Reference
librarian.
| V. English Language Dictionaries
and Encyclopedias |

A. English Language Dictionaries
7.
The
American Heritage Dictionary of Idioms. Ref.
PE2839 .A47 1997
Definitions of idioms and popular phrases
with example sentences.
8.
A
Dictionary of American English Pronunciation. Ref. PE2815
.C67 1998
Provides pronunciation of words and names most often mispronounced
in American English.
9.
World
English: From Aloha to Zed. Ref. PE2751 .H46
2001
Provides a collection of English words and phrases used around the
world.
B. English/Foreign Language Dictionaries
10.
Foreign
Word <http://www.foreignword.com/Tools/transnow.htm>
Search 178 dictionaries. Translate from 63 source languages
into 64 target languages - over 300 language combinations.
11.
YourDictionary.com <http://www.yourdictionary.com/index.html>
Provides a portal for language and language-related products and
services with more than 1800 dictionaries in 250 languages.
C.
Encyclopedias
12.
Encyclopaedia
Britiannica Woodstock Ref. 032 BR, ed. 15

About periodical searching: To
find articles on a topic in journals and newspapers use the Research
Advisor at http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/.
Two periodical indexes that are good to start with are:
13.
Academic
Search Premier, Proquest
Research Library
These two databases cover a wide range of scholarly journals and popular magazines
in all subjects. Many articles are full text. Particularly good for current
and interdisciplinary topics. Also available from http://www.library.georgetown.edu/advisor/
Please
send us your comments or suggestions
Content updated: 11/05,
rh
Links updated: 11/05,
rh